Thankful

Let’s see… where should I begin?  Probably from the top.

-          I am thankful to be working again, after almost a year of unemployment, at a job that may well provide opportunities and open doors that weren’t present before.

-          I am thankful that my tired old Bonneville has so far been holding up nicely through the 150 mi daily roundtrip commute to work (banging hard on wood as I type this).

-          I am thankful for the sudden and unexpected changes in my life the past few weeks that’s brought me to where I am now and is actually showing sunlight at the end of the tunnel, rather than another train coming.

-          I am thankful that I’m finally able to take care of my family again, and my first paycheck was enough that they can get what they need where they are, and I can take care of my needs here 640 miles away.

And now the people:

-          First and foremost, I’m thankful to Yes Dear for her love and support, and for sticking by me in tough times when I was not the easiest person to live with.  And especially for casting the deciding vote, the only vote that mattered, to make possible my move out here and the opportunity to start a new future for our family.

-          I’m thankful to be blessed with a sweet little grandson (AJ) that I have an opportunity to raise as my own and without all the dysfunction that has affected the rest of the kids.

-          I’m thankful for my daughter PBJ who helps keep the household going as Yes Dear works her brutal night schedule, looks after AJ, helps out with cooking meals, and generally just lightens burdens on everyone in the house.

-          I’m thankful for my eldest daughter, Panda Bear, who has come a long way the past few years and mended a lot of fences with the family.  And I’m thankful that she has blessed us with our first grandson KK, and will soon be blessing us with another grandchild in a few more months.

-          I’m thankful to my niece Stevie and her family, who’s been kind enough to put me up for nothing as I work until I’m able to afford a place of my own.  And to the rest of the family for inviting me over for meals periodically.

-          I’m thankful for my wonderful nephew JJ, and being closer to him so I can exert some positive influence in his life.  And being able to experience the brilliant mind and imagination that he doesn’t get to show very often.

-          I’m thankful for my other nephew Mark, who has gotten very close with me the past few weeks, and seeing him progress from the sad, shy little boy I saw two years ago to the beaming, loving kid I see today.

-          I’m thankful for my own side of the family and friends, and all the love and support they’ve given me.

-          I’m thankful for my new bosses and coworkers, who have already accepted me as part of their small team at work and has given me nothing but encouragement, and allowed me to showcase my professional talents in the workplace.

-          And, finally and most important, I’m thankful to our Heavenly Father and His Son Jesus Christ, who I fail to give enough credit to and should know better, for all the blessings that my family & I have received, and who keeps faith in me, even when I don’t always have enough faith in Them.

God bless and happy Thanksgiving.

5 thoughts on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

