Memed

Ah, the good old reliable meme.  Just what I need when I get too lazy to actually sit down and pound out a coherent post.  Nothing fancy here, just something to reveal a little more about myself.

Swiped from here.

1. Book or movie and why?

Hmmm.  Think I’m leaning more and more towards books the older I get.  I tend to jump around in books, often referring back to previous pages or chapters to clarify something I may have missed or am having trouble understanding.  More difficult to do that with movies, even in the age of DVD and DVR.  Also, books are able to go into finer detail than movies, and still come across as realistic (or surrealistic).  Furthermore, I tend to contort into strange positions for comfort while reading, something more difficult to do while watching a movie.

2. Real book or e-book?

I still prefer the traditional hardback or paperback book for fiction stories by my favorite authors (Stephen King, Tom Clancy, Jeff Shaara, etc.), or any book with lots of illustrations.  But I’m starting to get into e-books for certain nonfiction genres like historical analyses or essays.  Don’t have a Kindle or any plans to get one, since Kindle for PC works perfectly well on my laptop.  I see e-books as a supplement to my normal reading, but not something that’ll ever completely replace hardbooks, mainly because I’m afraid of my hard drive or account getting screwed up to the point where I can no longer access my e-book and have to repurchase, much like losing your DRM licenses to your downloaded music favorites.  Then again, hardbooks can become lost or worn to the point of being unusable, or have something spilled on them, so I guess it all evens out.

3. Funniest thing you’ve done in the last 5 years?

Have to go past five years to the funniest thing I’ve ever done, which was slipping on a banana peel back in high school.  More recently?  A couple years ago I managed to completely blow out the seat of my pants at work.  Being relatively new on the job and not having any vacation time, not to mention having a 45 min commute, going home to change was not an option, not with 8 hours left in my shift.  So I just untucked my shirt and let it hang as low as possible, and made it a point to either sit or have my backside as close to the wall as possible the rest of the day.  Nobody said anything, possibly out of pity.  Of course, much funnier to share now than it was at the time.

4. Do you put yourself into the books you read/write or the movies you watch?

The beauty of reading is that, without any visual cues, we can subconsciously create the scenes in our mind and let our imaginations fill in the blanks.  When I’m able to do that, then I know I’m hooked into a book.  Much harder to do that with movies, where everything is visually laid out, unless there is a scene dealing with a situation that I’ve found myself in before.

5. How would your best friend describe you?

My best friend, who I occasionally correspond with via FB but haven’t seen in person in better than fifteen years (yes, I miss him), once referred to me as “a diamond in the rough”.  I took that, and still do, to mean that fundamentally I’m a pretty good person at the core, but I need a lot of polishing and buffing for that good to show through.  That polishing and buffing is what I call my journey through life.

6. Favorite kind of car and why? 

Being a man of simple tastes, as a teenager I eschewed the really exotic cars that everybody else dreamed of like the Lamborghinis and Ferraris for the more pedestrian Porsche 944.  Compact, good looking, quick, great handling, and a chick magnet.  What could be more important to a 16-17 YO growing up in the mid-eighties?  No, I never got close to owning one but had a really nice poster of one adorning my bedroom.  But a couple years later, I discovered the REAL love of my life:

The Buick Grand National GNX.  Basically an old Buick Regal with the 3.8 V6 Gutless Cutlass engine gussied up with a turbocharger and a cool black paint job.  When initially unveiled, it was blowing Corvettes off the road. Having a sort of fetish now for old man cars with lots of power under the hood, this one fits me nicely.

7. Would your choice of party be a catered meal or barbecue out back?

My heart would choose a barbecue out back.  Has that down-home informal ambience of friends and family getting together, and probably a little tastier.  But my brain just might vote for a catered meal, despite the expense, because I’m lazy and if I had the money I just might pay someone else to do the work.  

8. What’s your favorite season and why?

I would have to choose the fall.  Something about the breaking of the summer heat, and the transition into the cooler days and evenings, not to mention the trees shedding their leaves and the changing of colors, always made me feel good.  I also like the coming of spring, though the associated pollen and allergy season pretty firmly regulates it to second place. 

9. What specific lesson have you learned – Spiritual, educational, occupational?

Probably that in the grand scheme of things that I myself don’t matter very much.  What does matter is what I can do for others in the world around me, and what kind of difference I can make in their lives.  That is where true happiness comes from, the kind that we were meant to seek out when we were put upon this earth. 

10. Besides writing, what’s your favorite thing to do when you get some extra time?

Reading or playing addictive computer games.  Really need to concentrate more on the former. 

11. What’s one place you can be found at least one time every week?

Y’know, I need to find a place like that, other than work, in bed, or in front of the computer.  My crazy work schedule has taken so much out of me that it’s rare that I find myself anyplace other than the aforementioned these days.

Consider yourself tagged if you’re reading this and made it this far.  Or don’t.  Your choice.

4 thoughts on “Memed

  1. Pingback: Memed « Sithy Things

Leave a Reply

